Martin Harling

The 17-year-old Martin Harling is twofold vice national champion on the Styrian harmonica - with good chances of winning the World Junior Championship title.

With 17 years already won several awards: Martin Harling, a virtuoso on the Styrian harmonica, can be proud of his recent success. In the state championships for Styrian accordion, he has become best Austrian in the general class (adults). And that's not his only distinction: since the State Championships in St. Peter-Freienstein he can call two time runner champion on the Styrian harmonica, at 1. Erich Moser Memorial competition, he received only three times awarded title of "Excellent".

This all came through the 17-year-old after a short training period: It was not until five years he learned his instrument, his skills exercises and he perfected with his teacher Mario Pirsterer in the Archduke Johann Music School in Wiesbaden.
Apart from the prices draw the young harmonica player also perseverance and endurance. On his "Styrian" he practices a day before competitions even up to four hours a day. He is supported by his father Ewald Harling, even decades already in the music industry, and the harmonica producer Peter Müller.

The next big goal, Martin Harling already in mind: to participate in the Youth World Championships 2015 Portorož, where he is considered the greatest hope in the art.

Img 0030

Img 0050

Martin Harling

Der 17-jährige Martin Harling ist zweifacher Vizestaatsmeister auf der Steirischen Harmonika – mit guten Chancen auf den Jugendweltmeister-Titel.

Mit 17 Jahren bereits mehrfach preisgekrönt: Martin Harling, virtuos auf der Steirischen Harmonika, kann stolz auf seinen jüngsten Erfolg sein. Bei den Staatsmeisterschaften für Steirische Harmonika ist er bester Österreicher in der Allgemeinen Klasse (Erwachsene) geworden. Und das ist nicht seine einzige Auszeichnung: Seit den Staatsmeisterschaften in St. Peter-Freienstein kann er sich zweifacher Vizestaatsmeister auf der Steirischen Harmonika nennen, beim 1. Erich-Moser-Gedenkwettbewerb erhielt er das nur drei Mal vergebene Prädikat „Hervorragend“.

Das alles schaffte der 17-Jährige nach nur kurzer Lehrzeit: Erst seit fünf Jahren erlernt er sein Instrument, sein Können übt und perfektioniert er mit seinem Lehrer Mario Pirsterer in der Erzherzog-Johann-Musikschule in Wies.
Abgesehen von den Preisen zeichnen den jungen Harmonikaspieler auch Beharrlichkeit und Ausdauer aus. Auf seiner "Steirischen" übt er täglich, vor Wettbewerben sogar bis zu vier Stunden am Tag. Unterstützt wird er dabei von seinem Vater Ewald Harling, selbst schon jahrzehntelang in der Musikbranche, und dem Harmonikaerzeuger Peter Müller.

Das nächste große Ziel hat Martin Harling auch schon vor Augen: die Teilnahme an der Jugend-Weltmeisterschaft 2015 in Portorož, wo er in Fachkreisen als der größte Hoffnungsträger gilt.

Full Size Render

Img 0030

Img 0050